Another track for the Disquiet Junto project.

This week’s effort is the 16th weekly Junto, and it is a shared-sample project. The theme is “background and foreground.” There are two provided samples, one of sandpaper and the other of dice. Please make one track employing both samples. You can transform them in any way you wish. You can add other elements if you choose to. However, one of the two samples should provide the predominant background sound, and the other should provide the predominant foreground sound. Which does which is up to you.

I decided to use only the samples of the sandpaper and the dice and not add any other sounds. I wanted to check if I can create melody out of simply non-melodic sounds.

I started with a great sound designer tool which is Ableton’s Sampler. I uploaded the dice sounds and used a very tiny portion of the sound between 0:05:523 and 0:05:529. When I played it back and forward it become a nice instrument. I created some melodic loops which were later “damaged” in Gleetchlab 3.0. – This melodic sounds become the foreground.

Later I used all possible tools to create some hissing noisy soundscapes out of the sandpaper sound. I layered 4 of those sandsapes which become an interesting background for me. Later I used some EQ modification in Ableton live and composed the whole track there.

Sandpaper sample by HerbertBoland
Dice sample by Robinhood76

More details on the Disquiet Junto at: Disquiet Junto