Another Disquiet Junto track:

First I thought that the disquiet0020-nodebeat wouldn’t be for me because I try not use “artificial” sounds in my music. But than, after running the desktop version of the app I thought – why not? Especially after reading that it will be possible to use another “traditional” instrument.

First I recorded 3 pieces on my recorder while I was playing NodeBeat with the mouse on the screen. Finally I decided to use only one track.

The traditional instrument I used is really a traditional one! It is a Chinese guzheng played by me personally (for the 1st time in my life) While we were on tour in China (October 2011) with my friends as a ChoP project, one of my friends really wanted to buy a mini-guzheng. We were trying to find one in Shanghai, than Nanjing and finally we found an amazing street in Beijing. I don’t know if such a street exists in other part of the planet. It is full of shops with all kinds of instruments – Chinese traditional, drums, guitars, trumpets, violins, chellos, etc. Each chop is different and when you think there won’t be another one with the instruments you are looking for you go 20 meters, or cross the street and there is another one, and another one… no end! So in one shop, when my friends were negotiating the price of the mini-guzheng, I found a big one standing in a quiet place, took out the recorder and played. I recorded several loops which I really like. Here is one of them. You can even hear the voices of my friends who negotiate the prices. (Actually the price was amazingly low!) And yes – that day remained in my mind :-)
Here you can see how we were buying mini-guzheng on the ChoP Blog
http://chop-project.com/index.php/2011/10/21/beijing-concert-no-2-recording-session/
(you can’t see me in the photos from the shop cause I was taking them, I’m in the photo no 7, 10 and 12 from the concert)

So I combined those things in Ableton Live adding some seamless, granulated guzheng loops.

This track employs the app NodeBeat, created by Seth Sandler, Justin Windle, and Laurence Muller. More information on NodeBeat at nodebeat.com.

More details on the Disquiet Junto at: http://soundcloud.com/groups/disquiet-junto
Please also CHECK my label: http://www.ETALABEL.com